Shame, Shame, Shame!

Birthday Gala

Foto: Doro Tuch
Foto: Doro Tuch
Foto: Doro Tuch
Foto: Doro Tuch
Foto: Doro Tuch
Foto: Doro Tuch
Foto: Doro Tuch
Foto: Doro Tuch

For more than just a few people, celebrating birthdays is tainted with shame. The situation of being the centre of attention and being celebrated is unpleasant for many. Finding a moment of liberation from social norms by sharing shame is the goal of many She She Pop performances – and is also the impulse behind their birthday party.

In 2018, She She Pop celebrate their 25th anniversary as a feminist artist collective. In cooperation with the HAU Hebbel am Ufer, their base station. For the birthday, She She Pop have invited their fathers onto the stage for the very last performance of Testament and will be exploring questions of ownership in Berlin together with choir and audience in their current production Oratorio. Last but not least, we look forward to the book launch of “Sich fremd werden” – the first book by and with She She Pop. In a big gala the collective is celebrating their first and longest relationship, namely that to the audience.

Over the past 25 years audiences have been steadfastly beside She She Pop. Whether in the scenario of a table dance show, in the glaringly lit circle of chairs at an encounter group, in the studio arrangement of a game show, during a ‘blind date’ by candlelight: there has been lots of opportunity to construct and reveal expectations, to recognize and reverse power relations. Above all there has been plenty of opportunity for shame, indeed on both sides. The birthday will provide an opportunity to tell the story of this variable, even dramatic relationship. She She Pop call on everyone who has suspiciously been eyeing them over the years or even just discovered them, who has played games or danced with them, who went after them with blunt objects, wore their costumes, who has turned red in shame with them or has cried alone in the dark auditorium.

In a big gala She She Pop, along with their longtime musicians Vicki Schmatolla, Max Knoth and Santiago Blaum, invite other comrades, lost and refound companions to join them on stage and on the dance floor. But above all they invite their spectators to join them in a dance. Champagne will be drunk from shoes and euphoric anthems will be sung. Get ready! Put on your shaggy wig, woman, if you don’t I ain’t comin’ back! Oh, shame, shame, shame, sha-ay-ame, shame on you! If you can’t dance, too!

 

Credits

By and with: She She Pop and numerous guests. Music: Santiago Blaum, Max Knoth, Vicki Schmatolla etc. Sets: Jan Brokof. Costumes: Lea Søvsø. Videodesign: Benjamin Krieg. Lightdesign, Lights: Micha Lentner, Klaus Dust. Sounddesign: Manuel Horstmann. Technical Director: Sven Nichterlein. Production: Anne Brammen, Johanna J. Thomas. Communication, PR: ehrliche arbeit – freies Kulturbüro. freelance communication support: Tina Ebert. Assistence Birthday: Kaja Jakstat, Laia Ribera, Alisa Tretau. Trainee: Lorena Biemann. Financial Administration: Aminata Oelßner. Company Management: Elke Weber.

Supported by Hauptstadtkulturfonds and the City of Berlin – Department for Culture and Europe.

Dates


past dates:
October 06, 2018, HAU2, Berlin

Shame, Shame, Shame!

Die Jubiläums-Gala

Foto: Doro Tuch
Foto: Doro Tuch
Foto: Doro Tuch
Foto: Doro Tuch
Foto: Doro Tuch
Foto: Doro Tuch
Foto: Doro Tuch
Foto: Doro Tuch

Für nicht wenige Menschen ist das Feiern ihres Geburtstages mit Scham behaftet. Die Situation, als Person im Mittelpunkt zu stehen und gefeiert zu werden, ist für viele unangenehm. In der geteilten Scham ein Moment von Befreiung von gesellschaftlichen Normen zu finden ist das Ziel vieler She She Pop-Performances – und ist auch Antrieb für ihre Geburtstagsfeier.

2018 feiern She She Pop ihr 25-jähriges Bestehen als feministisches Künstler*innenkollektiv. In Kooperation mit dem HAU Hebbel am Ufer, ihrer Basisstation. Für den Geburtstag bittet She She Pop ihre Väter mit der Inszenierung Testament ein allerletztes Mal auf die Bühne und erkundet die Berliner Eigentumsverhältnisse gemeinsam mit Chor und Publikum mit der aktuellen Inszenierung Oratorium. Unter dem Titel „Sich fremd werden“ feiert das erste Buch von und über She She Pop sein Erscheinen. Und das Kollektiv feiert in einer großen Gala seine erste und längste Beziehung, nämlich die zum Publikum.

In den vergangenen 25 Jahren waren die Zuschauer*innen fest an der Seite von She She Pop. Im Szenario einer Table-Dance-Show, im hellerleuchteten Stuhlkreis einer Encounter-Group, im Studio-Arrangement einer Game-Show, während eines ‚blind date‘ bei Kerzenschein gab es viel Gelegenheit, Erwartungen aufzubauen und offenzulegen, Machtverhältnisse zu erkennen und umzudrehen. Vor allem gab es jede Menge Gelegenheit zur Scham, und zwar auf beiden Seiten. Der Geburtstag bietet Gelegenheit, diese wechselhafte, ja dramatische Beziehungsgeschichte zu erzählen. She She Pop laden all jene zu ihrem Geburtstag ein, die sie über die Jahre argwöhnisch beäugt oder soeben erst entdeckt haben, die mit ihnen Spiele gespielt oder getanzt haben, die mit stumpfen Gegenständen auf sie losgegangen sind, ihre Kostüme getragen, die mit ihnen gemeinsam vor Scham errötet sind oder allein im dunklen Zuschauerraum geweint haben.

She She Pop werden in einer großen Gala neben ihren langjährigen Musiker*innen Vicki Schmatolla, Max Knoth und Santiago Blaum auch zahlreiche Mitstreiter*innen, verlorene und wiedergefundene Wegfährt*innen zu sich auf Bühne und Tanzfläche bitten. Vor allem aber fordern sie ihre Zuschauer*innen zu einem gemeinsamen Tanz auf. Der Champagner wird hier aus Schuhen getrunken und es werden euphorische Hymnen angestimmt. Macht Euch bereit! Put on your shaggy wig, woman, if you don’t I ain’t comin‘ back! Oh, shame, shame, shame, sha-ay-ame, shame on you! If you can’t dance, too!

Credits

Von und mit: She She Pop und zahlreichen Gästen. Musik: Santiago Blaum, Max Knoth, Vicki Schmatolla u.a., Bühne: Jan Brokof. Kostüme: Lea Søvsø. Video: Benjamin Krieg. Lichtdesign, Licht: Micha Lentner, Klaus Dust. Sounddesign: Manuel Horstmann. Technische Leitung: Sven Nichterlein. Produktionsleitung: Anne Brammen, Johanna J. Thomas. Kommunikation, PR: ehrliche arbeit – freies Kulturbüro. Freie Mitarbeit Kommunikation: Tina Ebert. Assistenzen Jubiläum: Kaja Jakstat, Laia Ribera, Alisa Tretau. Hospitanz: Lorena Biemann. Finanzadministration: Aminata Oelßner. Company Management: Elke Weber.

Gefördert durch den Hauptstadtkulturfonds und der Berliner Senatsverwaltung für Kultur und Europa.

Termine


Vergangene Termine:
06. Oktober 2018, HAU2, Berlin