All about She She Pop

Foto: Benjamin Krieg
Foto: Benjamin Krieg
Foto: Katrin Ribbe
Foto: Katrin Ribbe
Foto: Katrin Ribbe
Foto: Benjamin Krieg

She She Pop is a performance collective that was founded in the 90s at the Giessen Institute for Applied Theatre Studies. Its members are Sebastian Bark, Johanna Freiburg, Fanni Halmburger, Lisa Lucassen, Mieke Matzke, Ilia Papatheodorou, Berit Stumpf and Elke Weber, their creative producer.

The members of the group are predominantly women and they work as a collective. The performers see themselves as authors, dramaturges and practitioners of their stage art. The inclusion of their own autobiographies is above all the method and not the purpose of their work.

The result is a form of theatre firmly committed to experimentation. The stage is always a place of intense publicness. Here, decisions are made, ways of speaking and social systems are tested, and speech gestures and social rituals are tried, rehearsed or discarded. She She Pop sees its task as a search to find the social limits of communication – and to go beyond the protective space of the theatre, in both specific and artistic terms. The theatre is turned into a space for utopian communication. The audience, too, is often given a tangible attribution and a special feature: all of She She Pop’s works are experiments or demonstrations in some way, which would be invalid without spectators.

She She Pop has been based in Berlin since 1998 and celebrated their 25th anniversary in 2018. The HAU Hebbel am Ufer theatre has been a continuous co-producer and co-operation partner in Berlin since 2003.

Other regular cooperation partners at home and abroad are: Munich Kammerspiele, Schauspiel Stuttgart, Kampnagel Hamburg, Forum Freies Theater in Dusseldorf, Mousonturm Frankfurt / Main and Kaserne Basel, brut Wien, Theatre de la Ville / Festival d’Automne de Paris, Festival Kyoto Experiment Archa Theatre Prague, Prague German language Festival and the Konfrontationen Festival Lublin.

Awards and Nominations

Theatertreffen Selection 2019.
Winner of the Theaterpreis Berlin 2019 (Stiftung Preussische Seehandlung).
Nominated for the Europe Theatre Prize 2017, category “Theatrical Realities”.
Awarded the George Tabori Price 2015 of the Fonds Darstellender Künste (Performing Arts Fund)
Nominated for the UBU Award 2015, Italy.
Winner in the category “Deeply Moving” by the children’s jury at Kunstfest Weimar 2015.
Invited to Impulse Theater Biennale 2013.
Invited to World Stage 2013, Toronto.
Winner of “Best Theatre of 2012 Award – Foreign Category“ by the National Theatre Association of Korea.
Winner of the Goethe Institute Prize at the Impulse Festival 2011.
Winner of “Best Theatre Award – Foreign Category 2010“ by “Göteborgs Posten” (Sweden).
Winner of the Friedrich Luft Prize 2011.
Selected by nachtkritik at the Theatertreffen 2011.
Theatertreffen Selection 2011.
Awarded the Wild Card at Theaterfestival Favoriten 2010.

Alles über She She Pop

Foto: Katrin Ribbe
Foto: Katrin Ribbe
Foto: Katrin Ribbe
Foto: Benjamin Krieg
Foto: Benjamin Krieg

She She Pop ist ein Performance-Kollektiv, das in den 90er Jahren am Gießener Institut für Angewandte Theaterwissenschaft gegründet wurde. Mitglieder sind Sebastian Bark, Johanna Freiburg, Fanni Halmburger, Lisa Lucassen, Mieke Matzke, Ilia Papatheodorou, Berit Stumpf und Elke Weber, als Geschäftsführerin.

Die Mitglieder der Gruppe sind in der Mehrzahl Frauen und arbeiten im Kollektiv. Die PerformerInnen verstehen sich als AutorInnen, DramaturgInnen und Ausführende ihrer Bühnenhandlung. Das Einbeziehen der eigenen Autobiografie ist dabei vor allem Methode, nicht Zweck der Arbeit.

Daraus entsteht eine Theaterform, die dem Experiment verpflichtet ist. Die Bühne ist immer ein Ort der akuten Öffentlichkeit. Hier werden Entscheidungen getroffen, Gesprächsweisen und Gesellschaftssysteme ausprobiert, Sprech-Gesten und soziale Rituale einstudiert oder verworfen. She She Pop sehen ihre Aufgabe in der Suche nach den gesellschaftlichen Grenzen der Kommunikation – und in deren gezielter und kunstvoller Überschreitung im Schutzraum des Theaters. Das Theater wird zu einem Raum für utopische Kommunikation. Auch das Publikum erhält häufig eine konkrete Zuschreibung und eine besonderen Funktion: Sämtliche Arbeiten von She She Pop sind auf ihre Weise Experimente oder Beweisführungen, die ohne Zeugenschaft ungültig würden.

She She Pop sind seit 1998 in Berlin ansässig. Das Theater HAU Hebbel am Ufer ist seit 2003 ihr kontinuierlicher Koproduzent und Kooperationspartner in Berlin.

Weitere regelmäßige Kooperationspartner im In- und Ausland sind: Münchner Kammerspiele, Schauspiel Stuttgart, Kampnagel Hamburg, Forum Freies Theater in Düsseldorf, Künstlerhaus Mousonturm Frankfurt/Main sowie Kaserne Basel, brut Wien, Theatre de la Ville /Festival D´Automne de Paris, Festival Kyoto Experiment, Archa Theater Prag, Prager Festival deutscher Sprache, Festival Konfrontationen Lublin.

Preise und Auszeichnungen

Eingeladen zum Theatertreffen 2019.
Theaterpreis Berlin 2019 (Stiftung Preussische Seehandlung).
Ausgewählt für den Europäischen Theaterpreis 2017, Sektion „Theatrical Realities“.
Ausgezeichnet mit dem George Tabori Preis 2015 des Fonds Darstellender Künste.
Ausgezeichnet mit dem Preis der Kinderjury in der Kategorie „Herz ergreifend“ beim Kunstfest Weimar 2015.
Eingeladen zur Impulse Theater Biennale 2013.
Ausgezeichnet mit dem „Best Theater of 2012 Award-Foreign sector“ von der National Theater Association of Korea.
Ausgezeichnet für die Hörspielfassung (Produktion mit Deutschlandradio Berlin) mit dem Hörspielpreis der Kriegsblinden 2012.
Ausgezeichnet mit dem Preis des Goethe-Instituts beim Festival Impulse 2011.
Ausgezeichnet mit dem Friedrich-Luft-Preis 2011.
Ausgewählt für das nachtkritik Theatertreffen 2011.
Eingeladen zum Theatertreffen 2011.
Ausgezeichnet mit der Wild Card beim Theaterfestival Favoriten 2010.